SBWGA General Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 5, 2023

The meeting was called to order by President Nancy Sartor at 1:38 pm. The minutes of the November meeting were approved as posted.

Nancy thanked the kitchen staff and servers. She introduced the special guests and thanked them with cards for their good work here at SaddleBrooke: Vivian Timian, General Manager; Mike Roddy, Director of Golf; Mike Philips, Superintendent of Golf; Jane Chanik, Head Golf Pro; Molly Fullerton, Asst. Golf Pro); Trisha Rogers, Vista Event Planner. Not in attendance was Clark.

Nancy also handed out treats for the golf maintenance staff to Mike Philips and for the Pro Shop staff to Molly.

Bylaws Vote

It was moved, seconded and passed that the proposed changes to the Bylaws be accepted. The following were the recommended changes:

Article IV Officers –MEMBERSHIP CHAIR: The Membership Chair shall meet with contact each prospective member and establish her eligibility for membership, and collect dues and fees. She shall advise all elected officers of the current Elected Board of each new member. She shall introduce new members at General Meetings. The elected Chair will participate in appointing an assistant with the understanding that the assistant may be a nominee for this office the year following the elected Chair's final year of office.

Article VII D. Nominations and Elections: The written report of the Nominating Committee shall be presented to the President and posted no later than three weeks prior to the November General Meeting.

New Article XIII. ***ARTICLE XIII – DISSOLUTION OF THE ASSOCIATION

A. If a majority of the Elected Board decides that it is necessary or advisable to dissolve the Association, it shall call a Special General Meeting of the Association. Members shall be given 30 days written notice via email, the SBWGA-18 bulletin board and SBWGA-18 website, detailing the purpose of the meeting. During the meeting the Board will explain the reason they are recommending dissolution and the timeline that the online vote for dissolution will take place. The board will conduct an online vote of the current voting members, allowing members two weeks to complete their vote. After the two-week period, the number of votes cast shall constitute a quorum. Should two-thirds of those voting members agree, the decision to dissolve the Association shall be acted upon.

B. If the decision passes, and after the payment of any outstanding financial obligations, the remaining funds will be refunded to the membership.

2023 Winners

Nancy reviewed the major winners from 2023:

President's Cup: Debra Finn

Club Champions: Helen Graham; Senior Club Champion: Mary Ribacchi; Legends Club Champion: Margie Buhler

State Medallion: Helen Graham, Gross; Carol Sturman, Net

Cactus Classic Winner: Carol Bidwell (trophy presented by Maire Ryan and Marsha Camp). Flight winners were also announced.

Holes in One: 8 so far, 6 that were earned by members participating in the Hole-In-One fund. The 6 winners so far: Eleanor Kehlenbeck (1/29), Gail Plimpton (3/25), Lee Anne McClelland (4/15), Nancy Huffman (6/1), Kim Seales (6/25), and Geri Sandilands (10/26). Recognized Hole-In-Ones but not participating in the HIO Fund: Melanie Bassham (April and June).

Flight winners from the November Southern District Tournament (24 members participated) were:

1st Flight Winners:

1. Deb Finn	72 - \$24.00	
2. Becky Hubbard	73 - \$12.00	
3. Takeyo Eakin	75 - \$ 7.00	

2nd Flights Winners:

- 1. Margie Buhler 68 \$24.00 2. Ann Stonecipher 68 - \$12.00
- 3. Joan Chyall 72 \$ 7.00

3rd Flight Winners:

- 1. Kay Cruise 69 \$24.00
- 2. Cathe Kropp 73 \$12.00
- 3. Maggie Falconer 74 \$ 7.00

Special acknowledgements of our members who participated in outside events were announced:

LPGA State Medallion and Most Improved Golfer: State Medallion - Net Cathe Kropp Most Improved Golfer - Cathe Kropp

Southern District Fall Partners Event:

Three of our SB Ladies competed and won flight money in the Southern District Fall Partners Stableford Tournament in November:

Flight 6: Melanie Bassham and her partner Andrea Dresch - 2nd place Net score of 67

Flight 7: Barb Verbus and Donna Sehn 2nd place net score of 73, and 2nd place gross with a score of 38.

Tournament Announcements

Chris Crum announced the initial planning for the Quail Classic which will be held on April 7-9. She and Mary Ribacchi are the chairs. The theme will be the Olympiad. She asked that members be thinking of a door prize donation. Reva Stolpe will be in charge of receiving donations.

Marsha Camp announced the 2024 Presidents' Cup qualifying round will be held on the February 6, concurrent with Ace Day. Those signing up for the qualifying round will be invited to a party. The rounds will be played on February 13, 15, 17, 20 and 22.

Other Business

Nancy sent best wishes to Kathy DeMeritt who will be joining the Niners and to Karen Wendlandt and Ruthie Klomp who will becoming honorary members.

Yellow roses were presented to the 18 past presidents in attendance:

President	Year
Trudie Weber Penta	1996
Fay Steele	1998
Bobbie Manges	1999
Bevin Wagner	2000, 2001
Karen Vander Jagt	2003
Nancy Wyllie	2005, 2006
Ann Chatham	2007
Sandy Collins	2008
Gail Plimpton	2009
Reenie Romey	2011
Geri Sandilands	2012

Kerry Wolfe	2013
Debra Finn	2015
Brenda Brown	2016
Venetia Lewis	2018
Sherry Fitzpatrick	2019
Carol Bidwell	2021
Ann Stonecipher	2022

Nancy announced the following Tuesday Play Day upcoming dates, which are under Tuesday Play Day on the website:

1/2/2024	Race Track - Individual
1/9/2024	PYP Match Play
	January Ace Day/State Medallion (S/T) (General Meeting
1/16/2024	& Luncheon)
1/23/2024	Par 4s; Individual **
1/30/2024	Stableford - Individual

There were 28 teams out of the 44 who played in the Beat the Pro and the President and won. They received pins as well as prize money.

<u>Thank you's</u>

Nancy thanked all the volunteers who make our club great and asked anyone who volunteered in 2023 to stand. There was a big round of applause.

She also thanked the 2023 Board Members: Cathe Kropp (VP), Patty Mawe (Treasurer), Carol Bidwell (TPD Chair), Marsha Camp (Special Tournaments), Deanna McCann (Membership Chair), Sandi Chester (Handicap Chair), Ann Stonecipher (Advisor);

Cathe Kropp presented Nancy with the President's medallion and gave her a new golf bag from the Board.

Nancy thanked our sponsors for December: First Inspection, Fairway Cooling and Heating, Travel Shoppe (Peggy Bakos), and Red Earth. She recognized Nancy Huffman, Janet Robinson and Donna Sehn for their great work as Sponsor Chairs.

Final Announcements

Connie Culley presented Ruth Irving with a break pin for breaking 90.

Chris Crum announced that Girls Golf of Tucson is looking for volunteers to wrap gifts from the PGA Superstore on December 15. Please let Chris know if you are willing to help.

Gift cards to SaddleBrooke One were raffled off to three lucky winners.

2024 Officers and Board

The 2024 SBWGA Board members were sworn in. They include:

Cathe Kropp, President Maire Ryan, Vice President Janice Hoover, Secretary Sandi Chester, Treasurer Reenie Romey, Tuesday Play Day Chair Judy Briney, Special Tournament Chair Suzanne Stone-Griffith, Handicap Chair Kay Cruise, Membership Chair Nancy Sartor, Advisor

The meeting was adjourned at 2:10pm.

Respectfully submitted, Ann Stonecipher, Advisor