SBWGA-18 General Meeting Minutes December 6, 2022

The meeting was called to order by Vice-President Nancy Sartor at 1:15 pm in the Vistas Dining Room.

- 1. Minutes of the November 1 General Meeting were approved.
- 2. The Treasurer's report was approved.
- 3. Nancy thanked the kitchen staff and servers for all of their support during 2022. She also thanked Gail Fosmire and Arlene Lipscomb for their wonderful job of decorating the vistas during the year and making the room warm, festive and inviting for our luncheons.
- 4. Introduction of special guests: Vivian Timian, our GM, Mike Roddy, Director of Golf, Mike Phillips, Superintendent, Jane Chanik, Head Golf Pro, and Molly Fullerton, Assistant Golf Pro.
- 5. Conducted a Vote on motion to adopt the following change to Article XII of the SWGA By-Laws to read in full as follows:
 - a. "The Association's financial records shall be reviewed within sixty (60) days of the close of the fiscal year. This review shall be conducted by two (2) advisors residing in SaddleBrooke HOA#1 or HOA#2 who are not on the current Elected SBWGA-18 Board of Directors, both of whom have financial backgrounds. This review shall consist of: 1) review of documentation for and approvals of significant transactions, (2) review of bank statements and reconciliations, and (3) review of documentation for membership and sponsorship income. The outgoing and newly elected treasurers shall be in attendance. A report of the review shall be made at the next general meeting."
 - b. Motion made, seconded and passed.
- 6. Lisa Graff conducted a year-in-review acknowledging the winners of the various tournaments throughout the year:
 - a. President's Cup, Carol Bidwell
 - b. Club Championship: Club Champion, Helen Graham, Senior Club Champion, Takeyo Eakin, and Legends Club Champion, Margie Buhler

- c. Member/ Member: Debbie Green and Mary Ribacchi (Gross) and Tina Gruner and Marie Kahng (Net)
- d. State Medallion: Helen Graham (Gross) and BJ Murray (Net)
- e. Hole In One (to-date): Carol Bidwell, Maire Ryan, Shirley Hamman, Ret Convey, Deb Fenton, Debbie Green and Eila Sallaberry
- f. Lisa Graf presented the Quail Classic Trophy to Gail Plimpton. She thanked all the volunteers involved in the Quail Classic, and the Solheim Cup.
- g. Nancy called Deborah Finn and Ann Chatham to the podium to present the 2022 Solheim Cup champions (The Country Team) with their prizes. The Country Team beat the Rock & Roll Team 247 to 221. Sponsors for the tournament were Andy's Irrigation, Morris Hall, Wendy Harn, and Oro Valley Eye Care.
- 7. Kay McCollum recognized the Southern District Telegraph winners, played during our Tuesday Ace Day on November 1. She divided the Southern District players into four flights. Each flight winner won \$19.75 of pro shop credit. The winners were Margie Buhler, Connie Culley, Ann Stonecipher and Cathe Kropp.
- 8. Nancy recognized the LPGA Amateur Match Play Winners from SaddleBrooke: Cathe Kropp, (captain), Joan Chyall, Connie Culley, Sally Drennen, Patty Mawe and Bonnie Westra. These women represented 6 of the 18 women that competed from the Tucson Chapter. The trophy was on display in the Vista.
- 9. Nancy and all of the SBWGA members present, recognized and wished those members leaving the SBWGA a fond farewell. Leaving the SBWGA for the Niner's: Sandy Collins, Sylvia Kastelic, Marcia Keim, Vernie Tupa, Karen Wendlandt, Nancy Wyllie and Barbro Sultan.
- 10. Membership Chair Deanna McCann introduced new members Carol Dolian, Carol Sturman and Gayle Covey.
- 11. Joan Chyall and Sharon Kreutzen spoke about the 2023 Quail Classic. The tournament will be held on April 3-4 with a social on April 2. They are soliciting door prize donations.

- 12. Judy Fick spoke about the 2023 Presidents Cup. Sign up is on the bulletin board. Qualifying round is January 17th with round one beginning on January 19. Players must be available for all matches.
- 13. Reenie Romey spoke about the upcoming 3 Jills and a Jack Tournament scheduled on February 21. Mark your calendar and put together your teams.
- 14. Sandy Chester distributed Roses to all 18 past Presidents present at the luncheon: Faye Steele, Bobbie Manges, Bevin Wagner, Karen Vander Jagt, Nancy Wyllie, Ann Chatham, Sandy Collins, Gail Plimpton, Karen Haddock, Reenie Romey, Geri Sandilands, Kerry Wolfe, Debra Finn, Brenda Brown, Sheila Clarkin, Venetia Lewis, Sherry Fitzpatrick and Carol Bidwell.
- 15.TPD Chair Francie Entz awarded pins to all players beating the Pro and President all teams won.
- 16. Nancy thanked the outgoing Board. President, Ann Stonecipher could not attend so she will be acknowledged at the next meeting.
- 17. Secretary, Jo Ann Ellison administered the Oath of Office to the 2023 SBWGA Board of Directors.
- 18. Nancy thanked all members that volunteered throughout the year and a special award was given to Nancy Huffman, for her outstanding work in developing Sponsors for the Club. There are still volunteer opportunities that have yet to be filled so please contact Nancy Sartor if you would like to volunteer.
- 19. Nancy thanked the December sponsors, First Inspection, Northridge Dental, Big Bear Garage Doors and Lexus of Tucson.
- 20. Nancy acknowledged birthdays in December and held a raffle.

The meeting was adjourned by Vice President Nancy Sartor at 2:15pm.