SBWGA-18 General Meeting
Meeting Minutes — February 2, 2021

This meeting was held virtually due to the Covid-19 pandemic. The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by
President Carol Bidwell.

1. Message from the President — Carol Bidwell

a. Maire Ryan and Eila Sallaberry are presenting a discussion of Rule #18 regarding the provisional
ball.

b. TPD participation has been outstanding. We’ve averaged 80 participants per week.

c. 44 people have signed up for President’s Cup. The final and consolidation rounds will be played on
Thursday due to a postponement. Marie Kahng/BJ Murray will play in the final and Nancy
Sartor/Lee Anne McClelland will play the consolation round. Congratulations to them all!

d. Huge “Thank You” to Cathe Kropp for getting the Handbook produced and distributed to the
membership. There were many challenges.

e. Kachina Dolls have an event scheduled for Monday Feb 15 at Skyline CC. Signup by Feb 8. More
information can be found on website and bulletin board (by bathroom door).

f. Two AGA events are scheduled in Phoenix. More information can be found on website and bulletin
board (by the bathroom).

g. Southern District has cancelled this month’s event but hope to have a May event at Oro Valley CC.

h. Lady Niners have many gift baskets which were donated for their invitational. They will be raffling
these off. The baskets will be available to view and raffle tickets will be available to purchase next
Tuesday. Proceeds will go to Jr Girls” Golf of Tucson. Please support this worthy cause.

2. VP report — Ann Stonecipher

a. The Board is making decisions on scheduling luncheons on a month-to-month basis.

b. The website redesign is still a work in progress and is about %2 complete. Many changes are still
occurring. Some headings, like “Handbook”, have been removed and the menu items distributed to
other categories based on topic. We are trying to achieve less scrolling and shorter lists. Other
items have been relocated or renamed and some are new like “Alerts”.

c. When the final website is ready, there will be another Zoom session to get people familiar with the
new layout.

3. Treasurer Report — Cathe Kropp
a. January came in almost $296 under budget due to new memberships (2 full and 5 handicap-only)
and we were $27 under budget in General Operating Expenses.
b. $200 of sponsor funds allocated to President’s Cup was not spent and was returned to sponsorship
money which is yet to be allocated.
c. All Handbooks have been hand delivered. Thanks to all the volunteers in this huge effort.

4. Special Tournaments Report — Reva Stolpe

a. Status of President’s Cup matches — covered above.

b. Sadie Hawkins — will be held on Feb 23. Sign up on bulletin board by Feb 12. Deanna McCann
added that the entry fee is $35 per team of 4 (not per couple). There may be a special discounted
menu available from the Road Runner but is not included in the entry fee. This is a shotgun and
cards will be brought to you at your starting hole.

c. Club Championship/Senior Championship/Cactus Classic will be held March 16, 18 & 23

d. Quail Classic 2021 has been cancelled.

e. Member/Member Tourney has been moved from May 3,4 to April 12,13.

5. Tuesday Play Day Report — Nancy Sartor
a. TPD’s in January have averaged 80 players per week.
b. Nancy wanted to acknowledge her TPD team for all their hard work: Bonnie Westra, Judy Fick, Jan
Kreis and Francie Entz, setup the games and do the scoring. Lisa Graff does Eclectic scoring. Geri
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Sandilands keeps the bulletin board up to date and Judy Fick handles Birdies or Better (Gross) and
Chip-ins. Please thank them when you see them.

The sweeps budget was $752, actual payouts were $762.

Kathy Minx got the 1% Hole-in-One for 2021 on hole #3 of Catalina.

Aces of the Month were Brenda Brown (gross) and Christine Smith (net).

The partners event for Feb 9 is full (92 players) but you can be placed on the waitlist.

A special thanks to Venetia Lewis for her many SBWGA write-ups in the Saddlebrooke Progress
and to Angie Denahan for capturing our many memories with her photos.

Membership Report — Christine Smith
a. With one new member and one returning member, our current membership is 124. Welcome new

member Roxann Hanson and returning member Ginny Ford.

Handicap Chair Report — Joan Chyall

a.

b.

C.

127 audits were performed in December with 14 rounds not posted. Of these, 13 were posted after
receiving a reminder from Joan.

b. A question was posed to Joan from a snowbird member. When you are posting rounds at
Saddlebrooke and also at your out-of-town course, which one is considered “Home” and which is
“Away”? According to AGA, the member must designate which she would like to be her Home
course and notify both courses of that fact. There is no effect on your index either way.

Just a reminder that you should really be posting by midnight of the day you play.

Maire Ryan and Eila Sallaberry provided the following clarification on a rules question which came up
during the Cactus Classic: Rule #18 - Stroke and Distance Relief, Ball Lost or Out of Bounds; Provisional
Ball. We will focus on the Provisional Ball.

a.

b.

C.

Definition of Provisional Ball:

i. A provisional ball is not the ball in play. It is another ball played in case the ball just played
by the player, may be out of bounds, or lost or outside a penalty area.

ii. A provisional ball in not the player’s ball in play, unless it becomes the ball in play under
Rule 18.3c.

iii. Rule 18.3c states: You can play the provisional ball until you reach the point where the
original ball is likely to be.

iv. If you make a stroke with the provisional ball from the place where the original ball is likely to
be (or from a point nearer the hole than that place) the original ball is deemed lost and the
provisional ball becomes the ball in play under penalty of stroke and distance.

When is a Provisional Ball allowed?
i. If at any time you think your ball may be lost outside a penalty area OR may be out of
bounds.
ii. To save time, a player may play another ball PROVISIONALLY.

When is Provisional Ball not allowed?

i. You cannot put a provisional ball in play if it is known or virtually certain that a ball is in the
penalty area.

ii. You cannot put a provisional ball in play if you are planning on using the new local rule for a
ball that is either lost or out of bounds (where you can take a two-stroke penalty and move
the ball to the fairway). You can only do one or the other — so think before you decide which
play is best for you.

Example #1: You hit your ball from the fairway on Catalina #4. You cannot see it land, but you
think it may have rolled right towards the penalty area to the right of the sand trap by the green
(see area in the picture to the left outlined in red). Can you play a provisional ball? No. A
provisional ball is not allowed if it is known or virtually certain that a ball is in the penalty
Example #2: Similar to the example on Catalina #4, on Catalina #2, you hit your ball from the
fairway. You cannot see it land, but you think it may have rolled right towards the penalty area



(see area in the picture outlined in red). A provisional ball is not allowed as it is known or
virtually certain that a ball is in the penalty area.

d. Announcing a Provisional Ball.
i. Before the stroke is made, you MUST announce that you are going to play a provisional
ball. You MUST use the word “provisional”.
ii. If you don’t announce that you are playing a provisional ball, then that ball is your ball in play
under penalty of stroke and distance. Simply put — always inform your fellow competitors of
your intentions before you put another ball in play

e. When a Provisional Ball is to be abandoned
i. If you find your original ball and it is not out of bounds, you must abandon the provisional
ball and continue playing the original ball.

ii. Ifitis known or virtually certain that the original ball is in a penalty area, you may proceed
under rule 17 (Penalty Areas).

ii. If you make any further strokes with the provisional ball, you are considered to be playing
the wrong ball and the penalty under rule 6.3c applies. In match play, you would lose the
hole and in stroke play you would incur a penalty of two strokes. You must correct your error
or you will be disqualified.

9. Q & A session
Question #1 If you played a provisional ball but the original ball is found, it must be played,
correct? Yes
Question #2 If your ball is in a penalty area, can you proceed under Stroke and Distance? Yes,
but because you will be losing your distance, it might be better to take relief from the penalty
area.

If there are more questions, you can email Maire or Eila. If enough common questions arise, there may
be another Zoom presentation on Rules.

Meeting adjourned at 3:27 pm
Respectfully submitted,
Mary Ribacchi — Secretary



