SBWGA-18 General Meeting Minutes Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Prior to the meeting being called to order, Chris Smith on flute and Venetia Lewis singing and playing piano, provided entertainment with Christmas carols.

President, Venetia Lewis, called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m. Members and guests were welcomed to the meeting.

Having no corrections, the October 2018 Financials were approved as posted. Having no corrections, the November 2018 General Meeting Minutes were approved as posted.

In Maire Ryan's absence, Judy Melo awarded the winner of par points for this year. This is a low net award and awarded to a member who has the highest accumulated points on ACE Day. This is the seventh year of the event and this year was sponsored by Maire Ryan. The winner is Phyllis Sarrels.

Brenda Brown presented the Cactus Classic trophy to winner, Judy Melo, who had a 197 net for the three-day event.

Deanna McCann presented the winner of the Southern District Telegraph Tournament held on ACE Day in November. Winners in the red flight: Sally Drennen first place and Bonnie Westra second place. Winners in the red/yellow flight: Maggie Falconer fourth place, Deb Finn third place, Reenie Romey second place, and Takeyo Eakin first place. The overall winner in a card off: Geri Sandilands.

Membership

Sally Drennen, chair of Membership Committee, had two new members introduced by their Big Sisters. Shirley Hamann introduced Marsha Foresman. Deb Finn introduced Donna Sehn. Sally encouraged those who sign up to be a Big Sister next year should make sure they can make a commitment for at least six months to be available to help their Little Sister in making the transition to our golf program.

Tournaments

Carol Bidwell, along with Kathleen Houser, spoke on two upcoming tournaments. On Tuesday, January 15, SaddleBrooke Cup will be played. New members will be assigned to either the Birdie Bandits or SaddleBrooke Stingers team. Sign up will be on the bulletin board.

Presidents' Cup qualifier will be played on Tuesday, January 22 which is ACE Day. First round matches will be played Thursday, January 24. The next round will depend on the number of players that qualify. **If we have 64 qualifiers**, 2nd round will be played on Saturday, January 26 but **if we have 32 qualifiers**, 2nd round will be played on Tuesday, January 29. Next round will be played on Thursday, January 31st. Semi-finals will be played on Saturday, February 2 and the finals (including the playoff for 3rd and 4th place) will be played on Tuesday, February 4 so that those playing FTF can watch and the winner can be announced at the luncheon that day.

Barb Turriff announced the winners of Kachina played at Skyline Golf Club – SBWGA-18 had two winners, Chris Smith and Shellie Pierce. The next Kachina will be December 10 and the deadline to sign up has passed. On January 16, Kachina will be held at MountainView and the form will be posted on the bulletin board.

Tuesday Play Day

Filling in for Sandra Murray, Bonnie Westra announced the winners for the ACE of ACES. Low gross winner - Debbie Green. Low net winner - Marie Kahng. Winners for today's event will be available online.

The following people were asked to stand: Mary Ribachi, Molly Fullerton, Jean Molitor, Kay Cruise, Judy Melo, Nancy Fuller-Wilson, Takeyo Eakin, Karen Wendlandt, Brenda Brown, Marsha Camp, Maggie Falconer and Reva Stolpe. There was a random drawing and these members were presented with gifts donated by Sandra Murray.

On course events today – All received \$10

First flight, longest drive – Deb Finn, closest to pin – Deb Finn

Second flight, longest drive – Francie Entz, closest to pin – Pam Bicknell

Third flight, longest drive – Tina Gruner, no closest to pin

Fourth flight, longest drive - Donna Sehn, closest to pin - Shirley Hamann

Pam Brunelle announced for Sandra Murray that a Hole in One certificate will be issued to anyone getting a Hole in One on any course in the world but this will not qualify for the SBWGA-18 Hole in One program.

There were five chip-ins today: Judy Fick, Kathy DeMerritt, Ruthie Klomp, Sharon Kreutzen, and Karen Vander Jagt. Each will receive \$13.

Venetia Lewis thanked all committee chairs and their committee members, such as those writing newspaper articles, and those sending out cards to members. She expressed her gratefulness for all the help they have offered SBWGA-18 this year.

Troy Jewkes, interim golf director, was presented a gift from the membership. Mike Roddy, Golf Course Superintendent, will also be given a gift from the membership. A thank you gift was given to Molly Fullerton for her help in the Pro Shop on league business.

Nancy Huffman and DeDe Crowder, Sponsorship Committee, were presented \$50 gift certificates to The Keg from the Board of Directors for their significant contributions to the betterment of SBWGA-18 members.

Past presidents, in attendance at the luncheon, were called forward, thanked and presented with a rose: Brenda Brown, Ann Chatham, Sandy Collins, Carolyn DiSanto, Deb Finn, Karen Haddock, Bobbie Manges, Marilyn Mitchell, Gail Plimpton, Geri Sandilands, Fay Steele, Karen Vander Jagt, Bevin Wagner (2), Kerry Wolfe, and Nancy Wylie (2).

Outgoing Board members who have completed two years were recognized, thanked and given a rose from Venetia Lewis: Carol Bidwell, Karen Vander Jagt, Sally Drennen, Sarah Earnest and Charley Johnson (1 year).

Sherry Fitzpatrick presented Venetia Lewis the President's Medallion.

The 2019 Board of Directors was introduced and installed: President - Sherry Fitzpatrick Vice President – Shellie Pierce Secretary – Maggie Falconer Treasurer – Kathy Minx Special Tournaments – Kathleen Houser Tuesday Play Day – Sandra Murray Membership – Connie Culley Handicap Chair – Karen Tulchinsky They were given the oath of office. Sherry F was presented the gavel from Venetia L.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:30.

Respectfully submitted, Sarah Earnest, Secretary